The Compass

The issues facing our oceans are massive in scope and the consequences serious and far-reaching. This is why we welcome the expertise and guidance of leaders in their respective fields. To maximize SeaLegacy’s effectiveness, we have created “expert councils,” whose members provide advice and opportunities that promote and advance SeaLegacy’s mission.


Philanthropy and Development Council

Jodie Willard – photographer and philanthropist

Jon McCormack – photographer and philanthropist


Science and Conservation Council

Dr. Jane Lubchenco – former head of National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Dr. Russell Mittermeier – Conservation International

Dr. Gregory Stone – Conservation International

Dr. Rob Williams and Dr. Erin Ashe – Oceans Initiative

Dr. Rodolfo Werner – Pew Charitable Trusts

Dr. Carl Safina – President of the Safina Center

Dr. Robert Lipson – Dean of Science at University of Victoria

Fran Ulmer - Chair of the U.S. Arctic Research Commission; The Nature Conservancy Global Board

Dr. Maureen Raymo - Professor,  Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory



Expeditions Council

Ben Lyons – CEO at EYOS Expeditions Ltd.

James Raffan - Adventurer, Explorer, Speaker

Alan Chambers - Polar Adventurer and Explorer

Captain Chris Walsh - M/Y Archimedes


Creative Council

Lance Saunders – DDB Canada, President and Chief Operating Officer

Gregory Colbert – Ashes and Snow


Marketing and Communications Council

George Brown — former executive at Rand Group